Sunday Test Kitchen: Rhubarb Soda and Strawberry Rhubarb Hand Pies

Ever since I tried the strawberry rhubarb hand pie from One Girl Cookies in DUMBO, I’ve had a desire to replicate these delicious hand-held treats in my own kitchen.  And since I hadn’t cooked rhubarb before at all, I thought I’d get some at the Grand Army Farmers’ Market and make not only hand pies, but the rhubarb syrup for soda that Tasting Table posted recently.

Spiced Rhubarb Soda Syrup

The soda syrup recipe is a breeze, combining rhubarb, sugar, lime zest, lime juice, peppercorns, cardamom and instead of celery seeds, I added fennel seeds (taking a note out of Saffron and Honey’s modification).  Strain, chill, add to seltzer water and enjoy!  I know I have been!

Tasting Table’s Rhuby Red Soda Syrup

Strawberry-Rhubarb Hand Pies:

Although it seemed a shame to use the ripe in-season strawberries, there were a few that were a little overripe that were perfect for baking.  The recipe from Biscuits and Such called for a little sour cream, and vegetable shortening, but of course, next time I could try lard for the crust.  These turned out beautifully!

A few oozes but perfectly golden crust!

Biscuits and Such’s Recipe for Strawberry Rhubarb Hand Pies

~ by drywoodburstingintoflame on June 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
