Chicken Liver Mousse with Riesling-Thyme Gelée

I’m a sucker for chicken liver.

Once I have a taste, even just a small teaspoon, I’ll be back for seconds and thirds until a sizable chunk is missing.  Ever since Bon Appetit published a recipe for Chicken Liver Mousse with Thyme and Riesling Gelee in their December 2011 issue, the recipe has lingered at the back of my mind, until I had to give in and not only try my hand at the chicken liver, but also at baking bread for the first time.  Hello Test Kitchen Sunday.

The creation of the chicken liver mousse was, I’m sure as you can imagine, quite un-glamourous involving soaking the livers in milk and pureeing butter into the liver, but the end result was incredibly delicious.  A girl can’t eat all these jars of chicken liver by herself though.

One jar to the office.  One jar for Mother’s Day.  And another jar carefully stowed in the freezer for a not too far in the future picnic.

Bon Appetit Recipe: Chicken Liver Mousse with Riesling-Thyme Gelee

NY Times and Jim Lahey’s No Knead Bread Recipe

Chicken liver mousse with thyme and riesling, along with freshly baked bread, made a decadent addition to Mother’s Day brunch and thus was all gobbled down.  Thank goodness my mother likes chicken liver mousse.

Below, the spread: asparagus and leek frittata, ripe cantaloupe, hot cross buns with a liberal helping of coffee and mimosas.

Next time – Weck jars for presentation!  Hurrah for Test Kitchen Sundays!

~ by drywoodburstingintoflame on May 23, 2012.

2 Responses to “Chicken Liver Mousse with Riesling-Thyme Gelée”

  1. Hurrah!! Looks delightful and delicious. Yes, picnic soon – I’m still in line for supperclub haha whenever all of us are finally here at the same time :) xx

  2. I wanted to thank you for this excellent read!

    ! I absolutely enjoyed every little bit of it.
    I’ve got you book marked to look at new things you post…

Leave a Reply

 
