A Pie and A Cup

The brisk winter weather has reminded me that sometimes perfect days consist of a savory meat pie.  And luckily for me, my favorite purveyor of NZ pies – DUB Pies (Down Under Bakery) is just a few blocks away at Prospect Park West and 16th Street.

(Flickr: dorayakiii)

I hadn’t been in sadly, more than a few months, but for the past two weekends, I’ve been craving a warm steak and cheese pie (and there’s only one place to scratch that itch) and ventured parkside for my fix.  Paying for my steak and cheese and a flat white, I noticed their blackboard (covering one half wall of the bakery) contained a running list titled “A Pie and A Cup” followed by a list of names.  Here at DUB Pies you can buy a friend a savory pie and a cup of coffee, have their name emblazoned on the wall in chalk like a hall of fame, and the next time they come in, there’s a wonderful surprise awaiting them.  Life doesn’t get any sweeter – pay it forward.

DUB Pies

The good vibes are spreading – V Bar (both West Village and East Village) have Karma Boards with dollar amounts listed on their website. Buy a friend a drink.

V Bar

~ by drywoodburstingintoflame on January 30, 2011.

One Response to “A Pie and A Cup”

  1. As I already said when you first told me about this I think this is a most excellent idea!

Leave a Reply

 
