Pearl and the Beard @ Rockwood Music Hall

This post is long overdue, having seen Pearl and the Beard at Rockwood Music Hall in August.  Pearl and the Beard is a band I stumbled upon while also stumbling upon The Wassaic Project Summer Festival in Wassiac, New York (yes there’s a lot of stumbling in my life).  I entertained fantasies of going upstate and camping out at the festival, listening to indie music, absorbing the arty-folksy-hippy crowd while imbibing brews and feeling the grass with my toes.  Twas not to be.

But I did listen to the music artists who were to be performing in Wassaic, and loved Pearl and the Beard from first listen.  Rare, I know, but their moody melodies, harmonization (dare I use the word “angelic”?) and combination of orchestral and band instruments blew me away.  I had to see them, and see them I did because not long after their performance upstate, they breezed into town, playing one night at Rockwood Music Hall (Stage 2).

They played all the songs I love from their debut cd “God Bless Your Weary Soul Amanda Richardson” and teased us with a few new ones from an upcoming EP.  Live, they positively rocked the house, and I don’t think there was a person in the room who didn’t enjoy it heart and soul.  Pearl and the Beard play with conviction, and the songs which hum and howl on the cd, shake and roar in person.  As a group (Jocelyn Mackenzie, Emily Hope Price and Jeremy Styles), they have a wonderful dynamic – and are funny to boot.  I love them.

They joked during their performance at Rockwood Music Hall that they were going to perform their Will Smith Medley.  We all outwardly cheered.  And they admitted to jest.  But here it is on youtube:

The Wassaic Project

~ by drywoodburstingintoflame on September 17, 2010.

One Response to “Pearl and the Beard @ Rockwood Music Hall”

  1. Thanks for finding this link. I love Jeremy’s voice doing Men In Black.

Leave a Reply

 
