Summer Obsession: TACOS!

If you know me, you’ve probably eaten tacos at least once with me this summer.  Last summer my obsession was lobster rolls, and though I love a good lobster roll, this summer it’s been all about the slightly spicy, warm, satisfying fish, chicken, guacamole, pico de gallo filled tacos.  After all, what’s the best way to end summer nights?  Downing beer and tacos – which makes the location of Mission Delores/Oaxaca Tacos one of the best places to be.

Here’s the list of the spots I’ve tried this summer:

The taco that started it all: Rockaway Taco (and yes I originally forgot to include Rockaway Taco in this posting, but if you look in the July archives, there’s an entire post dedicated to my excitement over Rockaway Taco and Rockaway Beach.  You were my first love Rockaway, and the one I hold near and dear to my heart.  You are the last word in Fish Tacos.)  Also: Watermelon Juice.

NYTimes: Where Oaxaca Meets Rockaway

Pinche Taqueria – Conveniently close to Botanica Bar and with outdoor seating, one of my top picks for a late night stop.  Happy Hour at Botanica followed by tacos at Pinche, makes me one happy girl.

Pinche Taqueria

Dos Toros Taqueria – Just off Union Square, this little taqueria does big business with a constant line that spans the length of the restaurant.  Fast, delicious, and with a conscience.

Dos Toros Taqueria

Oaxaca Tacos – conveniently and wonderfully located opposite the new bars Mission Dolores and The Rock Shop on 4th Avenue in Park Slope.  Kismet?  Yes in taco/beer heaven.

Oaxaca Tacos with a location in Park Slope and Carroll Gardens

The Brothers L&C Latin Fast Food Truck – at the corner of 18th Street and 6th Avenue.  Very conveniently, dangerously, two blocks from my office.  This is where I go to get my taco fix during the work day.

And those I have yet to try:

Toloache – I’m always searching for different places to eat in Times Square since Tropic Zone and The Olive Garden never make the cut.

Sam Sifton Goes To Toloache

Roosevelt Avenue Midnight Crawl – A food/pub crawl from 10p to 3a in Queens on August 21.  Epic.

The Red Hook Mercado / Red Hook Ball Fields

5 Burro – located on Columbia and with a more extensive menu than most.   5 Burro Cafe


And coming soon to the streets of New York – Tacombi – the taco bearing VW whose motto is Peace, Love and Tacos.

Tacombi NYC

Making my own!  Perhaps next Supper Club…

Morale of the story, there’s a plethora of places to get great simple and fresh tacos, any way you like it, fish, chicken, etc… but there’s nothing beating the location, whether it is off the street, near a bar you love, or maybe its just the experience of eating a mouthwateringly tasty taco on a warm summer night with a cold beer.

~ by drywoodburstingintoflame on August 25, 2010.

One Response to “Summer Obsession: TACOS!”

  1. Rockaway Tacos didn’t make the cut?!?!

Leave a Reply

 
