Not a long-term thinker but I’ve got some short-term goals

In the short-term future there are things I’d like to accomplish.  Now don’t scoff, but I’m sure these are all somehow critically important to my future-in-five-years-time self.

Oh wait, that’s me at thirty.

No matter – the summer solstice is tonight and tonight I have some goals.

1.  Woodworking / whittling – I enjoy all the things an octogenarian Italian man enjoys – fine wines, long walks through the olive tree orchard, indoor and outdoor bocce, newsboy hats, extraneous mustaches and apparently I also think I would enjoy woodworking.  I think this stems from an urge to make my own jewelry box.  That and dinosaur figurines.  In five years time I’ll have a menagerie of wooden animals.  Or a collection of napkin rings.  Five years me is very talented.

(Sidenote:  I adore these extinct wooden animals by Josh Finkle)

2.  Food writing – Food writing has made it onto the scene as a legitimate form of journalism, its own section in the bookstore which is most often nestled snugly next to the cookbooks, and its own celebrities – Anthony Bourdain, Ruth Reichl, Bill Buford, Michael Pollan  – all diverging food journalists with the knack of describing things we enjoy every day, every meal with more clarity than we can shake a stick at.

3.  Margaret and I are taking up knitting this summer.  Odd in the summer’s heat you think?  But nay, with heavy handed foresight we craft god-knows-what in time for the chill of fall, because it’ll take us that long to actually knit something with our own two hands.

4.  An honest to goodness cooking class – I can expand my recipe repertoire all I like in my own kitchen, but I think I might need some additional skills and insight.  The last time I took a cooking class might very well have been in Thailand, and goodness knows, my pad thai skills are no better than when I started.  Though I do attribute a lot of what makes the Thai dishes to local Thai vegetables and seasonings, the plethora of Thai restaurants in and around New York seem to have no such trouble with their recipes.  I think it’s time to take it up a notch.

Resources:

Brooklyn Brainery

3rd Ward

Brooklyn Kitchen

~ by drywoodburstingintoflame on June 21, 2010.

One Response to “Not a long-term thinker but I’ve got some short-term goals”

  1. you can make a knitted bathing suit!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
