thanks everybody! (collective: awww)

Last night Sondre Lerche at City Winery was pretty darn fantastic.  I know his music mostly from “Dan In Real Life” (a charming rom-com starring Steve Carrell and Juliette Binoche, featuring music by Sondre Lerche – I mean, come on!) and have his Two Way Monologue album, though I rarely listen to it.  I love the sound of his voice, but on my iPod it lacks the lushness and vitality of the live performance.  Perhaps its the lack of vinyl.  Perhaps I should at least try to listen to it through my subwoofer.

Sentimental without being saccharine, wistful without being too indulgent.  He’s adorable.  Not only does he look 16 years old, complete with floppy hair, blue eyes, and such novel phrases as “and boy oh boy do I have songs to play for you tonight!” and the classic “thanks everybody”, he wore pastel purple pants.  He even threw in a Lady Gaga reference.  At one point he broke a guitar string and sheepishly said, “I rock too hard.”

And he stuck to his word and visited the swag booth, hawking tshirts, vinyl, cds and totes.  All sweaty, bleary-eyed and sweet.

From the Dan in Real Life soundtrack, Sondre’s farewell encore song: Modern Nature

The moment has come to face the truth
I’m wide awake, and so are you
Do you have a clue what this is? (I don’t know)
Are you everything that I miss? (I don’t hope so)
We’ll just have to wait and see (Wait, and see)
If things go right we’re meant to be

(Photos from SXSW 2010 – courtesy Brooklynvegan)

~ by drywoodburstingintoflame on March 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
